Our Team

  • Paul Martin

    CEO / Clerk to the Governors

    Paul has been with SJSA since 2014, having previously been employed in a senior management role within two other large almshouse charities.

  • Gillian Matthew

    Finance Officer

    Gillian has been employed by SJSA for almost 30 years, being the CEO / Clerk until she opted to step down to a part time role in 2014.

  • Donald McClelland

    Property Services Manager

    Donald joined the Charity in January 2019 following a career in the armed forces.

  • Vanetia Porter

    Residents Support Worker

    Vanetia joined the Charity in 2017, bringing with her a wealth of experience in both housing support and care services.  

  • Lesley Lee

    House Keeper

    Lesley can be found maintaining the communal areas across all of the SJSA sites. The longest serving employee, she has been with the Charity since 1989!

  • Katie Ayres

    Admin Assistant

    Katie is the person you are most likely to speak to when first contacting SJSA. Katie has been with the Charity since January 2019

The Hospital of St John the Evangelist and of St Anne in Okeham

List of Governors 

(as at 1st April 2021)

The Patron

Mrs Clare Johnson


Rt Revd Donald Allister, Bishop of Peterborough

Very Revd Chris Dallison Dean of Peterborough

Revd Stephen Griffiths Vicar of Oakham

Revd Dr Pippa Madgwick Rector of North Luffenham

Revd Cannon Rachel Watts Rector of Uppingham

Diocesan Board of Finance Appointments

Mr Val Harvey

Mr David Pattinson Chairman

Mr Rob Smith, Chair - Property Committee

Co-opted Governors

Mrs Amanda Whittington

Mrs Felicity Craven

Mrs Elisabeth Jupp

Mrs Elaine Woodhead Vice Chair, Chair - House Committee

Mr Jeremy Orme Vice Chair, Chair- F&GP Committee

Mrs Susan Spilner

Representative Appointments

Dr Janet Seden Representing the Bishop

Rev Debbie Smith-Wilds; Representing the Rector of Uppingham

Mrs Jill Mayhew; Representing the Rector of North Luffenham